Daniel ROA wins big at the WCMAs!

Posted by dmusique on 01.10.2012 in Daniel ROA

Daniel ROA took home an award at last night’s Western Canadian Music Awards (WCMA), held in Regina, SK.

Faced with stiff competition in both the musical and industry divisions, Daniel was honoured with Francophone Recording of the Year for his sophomore album, Hyperbole. He was also nominated for:
• Producer of the Year (with Norman Dugas)
• Video of the Year for “Alphabête

Daniel’s first album, Le nombril du monde, won the 2009 WCMA for Francophone Recording of the Year.

The WCMAs are part of breakout West, a 3-day music festival, conference, and awards event that celebrates, honours, and promotes the musical talents of the Yukon, BC, Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba. Daniel ROA was a performer in Saturday’s Festival lineup.

Daniel ROA wins Fondation SPACQ Award

Posted by dmusique on 28.09.2012 in Daniel ROA

Congratulations to Daniel ROA, who has been named a 2012 recipient of the Fondation SPACQ‘s Prix Edith Butler, which honours Canadian Francophone songwriters from outside of Quebec.

Edith Butler, for whom this prize is named, is an acclaimed Acadian singer-songwriter, an Officer of the Order of Canada, and recipient of the Governor General’s Performing Arts Award for Lifetime Artistic Achievement. The prize is generously sponsored by Astral Media Radio.

Congratulations are also in order to Monique Poirier, Daniel’s co-winner of the Edith Butler award.

The Fondation SPACQ’s 7th Annual Awards Gala was held on Friday, September 28th at the National Bank Tower in Montreal, QC.

Established in 1981, SPACQ (Société professionnelle des auteurs et des compositeurs du Québec) is an association of Quebec songwriters and composers, and today has more than 700 members.

Daniel ROA up for 3 Western Canadian Music Awards

Posted by dmusique on 05.06.2012 in Daniel ROA

Nominees for this year’s Western Canadian Music Awards were announced today.  Daniel ROA‘s sophomore album, Hyperbole, came away with a nomination in the Francophone Album of the Year category.  Daniel also picked up a nomination in the Producer of the Year award, along with co-producer Norman Dugas.  And rounding out the trifecta, his song Alphabête was also nominated in the Video of the Year category.  Winners will be announced in Regina SK during BreakOut West, on Sunday, September 30th, 2012.

Daniel ROA Takes The Stage at MIDEM

Posted by dmusique on 05.01.2012 in Daniel ROA

Durand Musique Management is pleased to announce that Daniel ROA will perform at the Manitoba Music Showcase during MIDEM 2012 in Cannes, France. MIDEM is the world’s largest trade show for the independent music sector. Catch Daniel’s show at 10pm on Sunday, January 29, 2012 at Morrisons (10 rue Teisseire).

The Manitoba Music Showcase is part of Canadian Blast, an initiative of CIMA and the Canada Stand. Daniel is joined by fellow Manitobans Les Jupes, along with 13 other musical acts from across the country, forming the largest ever delegation of Canadian artists to perform at MIDEM. For information on Canadian Blast and all of its performers, visit the CIMA website.

Durand Musique Management will be attending MIDEM as well, and welcomes requests for meetings, press kits, or simply more info.  Michel Durand-Wood can be reached at +1 (204) 955-7132. See you in Cannes!

Daniel ROA releases his second album

Posted by dmusique on 08.11.2011 in Daniel ROA
Winnipeg pop singer-songwriter Daniel ROA is preparing the release of his second album, Hyperbole, accompanied by a video and brand new show.
The new show for Hyperbole has us rediscovering Daniel ROA’s inner performer.  A show with a capital ‘S’, in it, you’ll find a bit of everything — multi-instrumentations, projections, choreography and much more!  As always, Daniel promises to deliver a saucy groove, with energy, fun, and an ever-present wink.  The album release will take place in three cities, all with a full presentation of the new show.  Firstly, in his native Winnipeg, on November 24th, he will be at the CCFM in a double-bill with Alex Nevsky of Montreal.  Secondly, Daniel will be in Ottawa on the Fourth Stage of the National Arts Centre on November 30th.  And finally, he will wrap up with a third release party in Montreal on December 1st at O Patro Vys.  The album will be available on iTunes as of November 24th.
The second opus of the franco-manitoban artist comes on the heels of the success of his first album, Le nombril du monde, where Daniel took us on a foray into his spirited musical universe, seasoned with lyrics stamped with intelligence, humour, and candor.  The album was rewarded with a Western Canadian Music Award – Album francophone in 2009, as well as a Trille Or Award – Artiste de l’Ouest canadien par excellence in 2011.  With exceptional musicians by his side, he has toured extensively across Canada, in Switzerland, and in France, meanwhile making time to write scores for theatre and engaging in studio recordings as a free-lance musician.
It is by a pure love of language and its infinite richness that Daniel ROA gave life to the first single of the new album.  The song, Alphabête, tells an almost esoteric story of a songwriter who willfully delves into the inner depths of his dictionary, searching for that ever evasive mot juste.  The song is yours to discover, as is the hilarious video which gives us insight into the mind of Daniel ROA.

Winnipeg pop singer-songwriter Daniel ROA is preparing the release of his second album, Hyperbole, accompanied by a video and brand new show.

The new show for Hyperbole has us rediscovering Daniel ROA’s inner performer.  A show with a capital ‘S’, in it, you’ll find a bit of everything — multi-instrumentations, projections, choreography and much more!  As always, Daniel promises to deliver a saucy groove, with energy, fun, and an ever-present wink.  The album release will take place in three cities, all with a full presentation of the new show.  Firstly, in his native Winnipeg, on November 24th, he will be at the CCFM in a double-bill with Alex Nevsky of Montreal.  Secondly, Daniel will be in Ottawa on the Fourth Stage of the National Arts Centre on November 30th.  And finally, he will wrap up with a third release party in Montreal on December 1st at O Patro Vys.  The album will be available on iTunes as of November 24th.

The second opus of the franco-manitoban artist comes on the heels of the success of his first album, Le nombril du monde, where Daniel took us on a foray into his spirited musical universe, seasoned with lyrics stamped with intelligence, humour, and candor.  The album was rewarded with a Western Canadian Music Award – Album francophone in 2009, as well as a Trille Or Award – Artiste de l’Ouest canadien par excellence in 2011.  With exceptional musicians by his side, he has toured extensively across Canada, in Switzerland, and in France, meanwhile making time to write scores for theatre and engaging in studio recordings as a free-lance musician.

It is by a pure love of language and its infinite richness that Daniel ROA gave life to the first single of the new album.  The song, Alphabête, tells an almost esoteric story of a songwriter who willfully delves into the inner depths of his dictionary, searching for that ever evasive mot juste.  The song is yours to discover, as is the hilarious video which gives us insight into the mind of Daniel ROA.

Warning: Parameter 2 to qtranxf_postsFilter() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/dmusique/public_html/wordpress/wp-includes/class-wp-hook.php on line 298
 Durand Musique Management - Page 2

Daniel ROA revient gagnant des WCMAs!

Noté par dmusique le 01.10.2012 dans Daniel ROA

Daniel ROA a remporté un prix lors des Western Canadian Music Awards (WCMA) hier soir à Regina SK.

Faisant face à une forte concurrence, Daniel a été nommé lauréat de l’Album francophone de l’année pour son deuxième album, Hyperbole. Il était aussi en lice pour :
• Réalisateur de l’année (avec Norman Dugas) pour l’album Hyperbole
• Vidéoclip de l’année pour sa chanson « Alphabête »

Le premier album de Daniel, Le nombril du monde, a remporté le WCMA pour Album francophone de l’année en 2009.

Les WCMA font partie de Breakout West, un événement de 3 jours qui comprend festival, conférence et gala et qui célèbre, reconnait et promouvoit les talents musicaux du Yukon, de la Colombie-Britannique, de l’Alberta, de la Saskatchewan et du Manitoba. Daniel ROA présenta un spectacle samedi soir pour la composante Festival.

Daniel ROA remporte un Prix de la Fondation SPACQ

Noté par dmusique le 28.09.2012 dans Daniel ROA

Félicitations à Daniel ROA, qui fut nommé récipiendaire du Prix Edith Butler de la Fondation SPACQ, décerné annuellement à deux auteurs-compositeurs de la francophonie canadienne. Edith Butler, l’homonyme du prix, est une auteur-compositrice-interprète acadienne accomplie, Officier de l’Ordre du Canada, et récipiendaire du Prix du Gouverneur Général pour les Arts du spectacle – Réalisation artistique. Le prix est généreusement offert par Astral Media Radio.

Félicitations aussi à Monique Poirier, l’autre gagnante du prix Edith Butler cette année.

La 7e remise de prix annuelle des Prix de la Fondation SPACQ a eu lieu vendredi, le 28 septembre lors d’un déjeuner au 4e étage de la Tour de la Banque Nationale, à Montréal QC.

Établi en 1981, la SPACQ (Société professionnelle des auteurs et des compositeurs du Québec) est une association qui représente les intérêts moraux, économiques et professionnels des auteurs de chansons francophones à travers le Canada et de tous les compositeurs de musique au Québec, et compte aujourd’hui plus de 700 membres.

Daniel ROA en lice pour 3 WCMAs

Noté par dmusique le 05.06.2012 dans Daniel ROA

La liste des artistes en nomination pour les Western Canadian Music Awards a été annoncée aujourd’hui.  Le deuxième album de Daniel ROA, Hyperbole, s’est mérité une nomination dans la catégorie Album francophone de l’année.  De plus, Daniel a remporté une nomination dans la catégorie Producer of the Year (Producteur de l’année) en équipe avec son co-producteur, Norman Dugas.  Et, jamais deux sans trois, le vidéoclip de sa chanson Alphabête est aussi en lice pour le prix Video of the Year (vidéoclip de l’année).  Le gagnant sera dévoilé à Régina SK lors de BreakOut West, le dimanche 30 septembre 2012.

Daniel ROA en vitrine durant MIDEM

Noté par dmusique le 05.01.2012 dans Daniel ROA

Durand Musique Management est fier d’annoncer que Daniel ROA sera en vitrine au Manitoba Music Showcase durant MIDEM 2012 à Cannes, France. MIDEM plus grand rassemblement des entreprises travaillant dans le secteur de la musique au monde. Vous pouvez voir le spectacle de Daniel à 22h00 le dimanche 29 janvier 2012 à Morrisons (10, rue Teisseire).

Le Manitoba Music Showcase fait partie de Canadian Blast, une initiative de CIMA et du Canada Stand. Daniel partagera la scène avec un autre groupe manitobain, Les Jupes, ainsi que 13 autres formations musicales d’à travers le pays, formant la plus grande délégation d’artistes canadiens à se présenter à MIDEM. Pour plus de détails sur Canadian Blast, visitez le site de CIMA.

Durand Musique Management sera aussi à MIDEM, et accepte présentement des demandes de rencontres, de trousses de presse, ou simplement d’information supplémentaire.  Michel Durand-Wood est disponible au +1 (204) 955-7132. Rendez-vous à Cannes!

Daniel ROA lance son deuxième album

Noté par dmusique le 08.11.2011 dans Daniel ROA
Le chansonnier pop Daniel ROA s’apprête à lancer son deuxième album, Hyperbole, accompagné d’un vidéoclip et d’un tout nouveau spectacle.
Un vrai spectacle dans tous les sens, Hyperbole nous fait redécouvrir la vraie bête de scène qu’est Daniel ROA.  Du jamais vu, tout y est — multi-instrumentations, projections, chorés et plus!  Daniel promet de nous emporter avec son groove, son énergie, sa joie omniprésente et, comme toujours, le clin d’œil.  Le lancement s’effectuera en trois temps, et tous avec une présentation de son spectacle intégral.  D’abord, dans sa ville natale de Winnipeg, le 24 novembre, au CCFM, il se présentera en double-plateau avec Alex Nevsky dans le cadre du Coup de cœur francophone.  En second lieu, Daniel sera à Ottawa à la Quatrième Salle du CNA le soir du 30 novembre.  Et finalement, pour la rentrée montréalaise le 1er décembre, on verra Daniel à l’O Patro Vys.  L’album sera disponible sur iTunes à partir du 24 novembre.
Ce deuxième opus de l’artiste d’origine franco-manitobaine nous arrive aux talons du grand succès de son premier album, Le nombril du monde, où Daniel proposa une première incursion dans un univers musical  fougueux, relevé de textes empreints d’intelligence, d’humour et de candeur. L’album remporta un Western Canadian Music Award – Album francophone de l’année 2009, ainsi qu’un prix Trille Or – Artiste de l’Ouest canadien par excellence 2011.  Avec ses musiciens hors pairs, il a tourné partout au Canada, en Suisse et en France, tout en trouvant le temps de composer pour le théâtre et de maintenir un pied dans la porte des studios où il travaille comme musicien pigiste.
C’est par pur envoûtement pour la langue et ses richesses infinies que Daniel ROA a pondu le premier extrait de ce nouvel album.  La chanson, Alphabête, raconte d’une façon presque ésotérique l’histoire d’un auteur qui s’abandonne volontiers à la découverte dans son dictionnaire, mais attention, le texte a plusieurs niveaux, et on y trouve plus que des trésors linguistiques, plus encore qu’un emploi érudit des vingt-six lettres. À vous d’écouter… et de voir le nouveau vidéoclip qui dévoile de façon hilarante l’univers ludique de Daniel ROA.

Le chansonnier pop Daniel ROA s’apprête à lancer son deuxième album, Hyperbole, accompagné d’un vidéoclip et d’un tout nouveau spectacle.

Un vrai spectacle dans tous les sens, Hyperbole nous fait redécouvrir la vraie bête de scène qu’est Daniel ROA.  Du jamais vu, tout y est — multi-instrumentations, projections, chorés et plus!  Daniel promet de nous emporter avec son groove, son énergie, sa joie omniprésente et, comme toujours, le clin d’œil.  Le lancement s’effectuera en trois temps, et tous avec une présentation de son spectacle intégral.  D’abord, dans sa ville natale de Winnipeg, le 24 novembre, au CCFM, il se présentera en double-plateau avec Alex Nevsky dans le cadre du Coup de cœur francophone.  En second lieu, Daniel sera à Ottawa à la Quatrième Salle du CNA le soir du 30 novembre.  Et finalement, pour la rentrée montréalaise le 1er décembre, on verra Daniel à l’O Patro Vys.  L’album sera disponible sur iTunes à partir du 24 novembre.

Ce deuxième opus de l’artiste d’origine franco-manitobaine nous arrive aux talons du grand succès de son premier album, Le nombril du monde, où Daniel proposa une première incursion dans un univers musical  fougueux, relevé de textes empreints d’intelligence, d’humour et de candeur. L’album remporta un Western Canadian Music Award – Album francophone de l’année 2009, ainsi qu’un prix Trille Or – Artiste de l’Ouest canadien par excellence 2011.  Avec ses musiciens hors pairs, il a tourné partout au Canada, en Suisse et en France, tout en trouvant le temps de composer pour le théâtre et de maintenir un pied dans la porte des studios où il travaille comme musicien pigiste.

C’est par pur envoûtement pour la langue et ses richesses infinies que Daniel ROA a pondu le premier extrait de ce nouvel album.  La chanson, Alphabête, raconte d’une façon presque ésotérique l’histoire d’un auteur qui s’abandonne volontiers à la découverte dans son dictionnaire, mais attention, le texte a plusieurs niveaux, et on y trouve plus que des trésors linguistiques, plus encore qu’un emploi érudit des vingt-six lettres. À vous d’écouter… et de voir le nouveau vidéoclip qui dévoile de façon hilarante l’univers ludique de Daniel ROA.